Formed in 1891 and commemorated in George Houghton’s remarkable book “The First Hundred Years”, our golf club is the oldest in Dorset. Originally on the West Cliff at West Bay, the Club moved to a new location on the East Cliff in 1911.
The Clubhouse was then set into the cliff, some halfway up, leaving an energetic walk to the first tee. In later years a single track road zigzagged its way to the top much to the relief of the members. Permission was then granted for members to change their shoes in the upper car park!
In 1952 an exhibition match was played at Bridport between an up and coming young golfer named Peter Alliss and the enigmatic Max Faulkner. This match drew a large crowd and in a letter recently received at the Club from Mr Alliss, he says he remembers the experience fondly.
The Clubhouse shown right was destroyed by fire in 1969 and was replaced by a temporary building that was to last some 32 years! For a period of time the course had only 10 holes, 8 of these being played twice to make the full 18. However, through prudent land acquisition over many years culminating in a further 44 acres in 1989 the course was redesigned to provide a longer, more challenging, but fair test of golf.
The Club dramatically moved into the 21st century by agreeing to sell the Clubhouse site for a housing development, and building a brand new Clubhouse and Driving Range at the opposite end of the course. This was completed in November 2002 and officially opened on 6th December 2002 by their Royal Highnesses the Earl and Countess of Wessex. The members now have the very best facilities: easy car parking, modern changing rooms, and a lounge, spikes bar and dining room that all command breathtaking views over the course and the rolling Hardy countryside. The Clubhouse is in a superb location that is truly “Far from the Madding Crowd”. The relocation has meant some hole changes and the construction of a new par 3 18th hole to a green in front of the Clubhouse. For nostalgia, much of the earth banking surrounding this green has been constructed from material brought from the old Clubhouse site.
Members are now able to relax with a refreshing drink either in the lounge bar or on the patio as they watch fellow golfers complete their round. Our new Clubhouse has attracted many new members and visitors alike. Even a BBC series has used our cliff top as a film location! Despite all of the changes we hope our Club has retained its warmth and friendly air, and we look forward to welcoming old and new friends long into the future.